Day 20 of 30 Days/30 Blogs Christmas in the Classroom and at My Piano

21 Nov

There is one way in which I get a jump start on celebrating Christmas every year…MUSIC. It begins as early as Halloween some years, with the preparation of third grade children on their flutophone.
Where I teach, third grade is a big deal in my music class. Once we’ve gone over keyboard basics in September and October, we introduce the flutophone. Guitar waits until April.
We take a couple weeks to learn the basics, and then plunge into Christmas songs. The children who’ve convinced themselves they simply can NOT read music, miraculously learn to play Jingle Bells and Joy to the World, and off they go with melody and harmony or whatever it takes.
Here at home on my piano each student proudly begins with Jingle Bells and Joy to the World as well. The more advanced try the Carol of the Bells or Linus and Lucy. I even have a simple edition of The Nutcracker Suite which also subs as a coloring book for the young ones.
In my Mini Maestros class on Friday we’ll begin Over the River and Through the Woods with little shakers, bells, clackers and sand blocks for sound affects.
I think we’ll be prepared in time for Christmas.

One Response to “Day 20 of 30 Days/30 Blogs Christmas in the Classroom and at My Piano”

  1. susangilbertcollins November 21, 2013 at 3:17 pm #

    I adore starting the Christmas season early by listening to Vince Guaraldi’s Charlie Brown Christmas music.

Leave a Reply

