Day 12 of 30 days/ 30 Blogs Encouragment

13 Nov

Yesterday when I walked passed my Italian neighbor’s house, she and her husband were fitting the small white lights into the wooden candles that line their driveway.
The temperature was beginning to drop and they were trying to get as much done as they could before the rain came.
Today it snowed all day. I don’t know if they were able to work on the lights today.
Last week when I stopped by to talk, she said she wasn’t sure how much longer they’d be able to do this. I told her the story of when our children were small and we lived on the other side of town. I told her how we used to drive into this neighborhood just to see their Christmas display. I think it encouraged her.
I can imagine when her hands are numb from the cold and her legs and back begin to ache from standing so long, she wonders if it’s worth it. I think when people enjoy their work, it makes it worth it.
Over the last few days, I’ve received some wonderful encouragement to go forward with the manuscript, some confirmation in what I believed to be true, and some wonderful advice from a local middle grade/ YA author of many books.
I am taking it slow, not allowing myself to stress, and enjoying it once again.
The goal is still to send it off by the end of the month, or sooner. It’s a lot of work. I’ll need to be at it everyday. But I’ll need to take a few breaks too…in between my day job. If she’ll let me, I’d like to help my neighbor finish her lights by Thanksgiving. At our house, it’s not allowed until December.
Sometimes just a little encouragement makes a big difference in our lives, our attitudes and well-being. It doesn’t cost anything either.

Leave a Reply

