Day 5 of 30 days/30 blogs- Birthdays

6 Nov

I consider it a privilege to sleep in on your birthday, and even more so, to wake up, get out of bed on two working legs and enjoy family and friends. 

My morning began as usual. I plugged in the autumn lights on the mantle, went to pour a cup of coffee and realized the coffee machine had turned off and then coffee was cold. Since the microwave needs repair, the only options were to make a fresh pot of coffee or heat up the pot on the stove top.

If you know much about me, you know that even I don’t drink my own coffee. Yes, it’s that bad. Lary makes a great cup of coffee, even if it as to be reheated on the stove.

So I started to reheat and walked away…only for a moment. When I returned, there was a strange smell. At first I thought it was the electric space heater. Unfortunately it was the plastic handle on the coffee pot melting.

But the coffee was still good.

Our daughter Amanda and grandson Liam arrived shortly after and we went into town to vote. Ahhh…the pleasures of living in a small town where everyone knows you. Where you go to vote and you know half the folks working the polls. Where you make one little mistake on your ballot and the machine spits it out, (which alerts everyone that you’re a bit clueless) and you have to go through the process of negating your ballot and begin again!

Next was lunch at Java Junction–good as always. And then back home to watch a classic, The Freshman, with Matthew Broderick and Marlin Brando (1986). 

I taught three piano students, received a bouquet of sunflowers from my friend Beth and was treated to take-out for dinner– not just any take-out– Red Fidele’s  linguine and red clam sauce take-out, thanks to my husband Lary.

I had an Irish Children’s Program board meeting at Johnny’s Irish Pub, where we continued to plan for both new and returning kids from Belfast to come here for summer 2014.

Alyssa and Ajay called from Georgia, Mike, Kristen and Dominick came bearing gifts as did Chris and Sam who are picking out a movie for us to watch.

This might not be the most exciting blog I’ll write during these 30 days of blogging (aside from the incident while voting)  but hey, I’m not going to complain. It’s been a good day.

 

 

One Response to “Day 5 of 30 days/30 blogs- Birthdays”

  1. susangilbertcollins November 6, 2013 at 2:27 pm #

    Sounds like a wonderful day – and hey, you didn’t have to cook at all! Yay for Lary and take out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

