NaBloPoMo — National Blog Posting Month . I’ve no idea what I’m doing, but at least I’m writing

2 Nov

As I speak, so I write. I’m not worried about meeting that huge word count. I talk too much therefore I write too much. But seriously, I’ve no idea what I’m doing.

I love to write and tell stories. I’ve been doing it since I was a child. But the technology is killing me. Just when I think I know how to do something, WHAM! I’m back in first grade.

For example- Here I am, writing the first blog in over a year. A year? A whole year? Yes. A whole year. And nothing looks the same. And I can’t find the little button that says “Tools” to find my word count.

I’m in-between writing projects and I’m miserable. My birthday is in a few days so this is my official birthday weekend. But I’ve been so miserable that even my husband said, “It’s an effort to be nice to you right now.” He’s got a lot of days to practice.

The problem is, I wrote a YA novel. It took me a very long time. When I began I had no idea what I was doing, but I learned as I went. And there was a lot to learn. I didn’t even know what I didn’t know. Olivia Dukakis in the movie “Moonstruck” tells the college professor, “What you don’t know about women is a lot!” It’s one of my all time favorite lines. Well, it holds as true for me as it relates to writing, just as it had for the professor about women.

Years later, I’ve learned a few things. I’ve revised a hundred times and now have handed my manuscript to my beloved critique group for a second time, a retired high school English teacher who is reading it on her way to Florida, and….a very interesting fifteen year old girl I just met at the local library. She scares me more than anyone. She’s the only one who truly qualifies as she’s the only YA.

Here’s why I’m miserable: I’ve lived with this manuscript for years. Once it  survives this round of critiquing and more edits, it gets sent off to an editor at a publishing house. Said editor has graciously agreed to take a third look. There’s a second manuscript; a sequel to the first. Everything in me wants to get it ready to submit. But if the first one doesn’t make it….

“Go on to something else,” said EVERYONE. Waaaahhhh! I don’t want to!

“Oh, grow up,” I said to myself though everyone was thinking it.

So I watched my grandsons and came up with an idea for a picture book called, “Nana Needs a Nap.” Unfortunately I ignored everything that had ever been mentioned at my RACWI (Rochester Area Children’s Writers and Illustrators) meetings because I, of course, have only been writing YA. But I gave it a try…haven’t finished. I wrote another about my cat, Buddy. It’s called “Naughty in Winter.” I thought it was cute. My critique group said I should drop the rhyme. I like the rhyme. And so it sits in my file.

There’s a button at the bottom of my screen. It says, “Preview.” I guess somewhere on that page will be a button that lets me see my word count. If not, I’m confidant that I’ve said a lot already.

I’d like technology to be simpler. I’d like Time Warner Cable to repent of their ridiculous decision to change all the channels around, because now, I can’t find anything. I was simply looking for something funny, stupid or entertaining so I wouldn’t think about writing.

And then I checked my e-mail and saw this 30 days 30 blogs challenge. If I can figure out how to make it work, well, maybe I’ll be less grumpy. My family will find it a little easier to be nice to me and my birthday weekend will be saved.

We’ll see.

2 Responses to “NaBloPoMo — National Blog Posting Month . I’ve no idea what I’m doing, but at least I’m writing”

  1. jeannedoyon November 2, 2013 at 12:57 am #

    This is the first time I’ve heard of NaBloPoMo 🙂 Does it give you a word count for each day–or just an assignment to write daily? I understand the writer’s block–the manuscripts in half-way finished form, sitting in files. I am proud of you….and I would love to read some of your stuff

  2. susangilbertcollins November 3, 2013 at 12:40 am #

    Keep on keeping on, Angela! May your birthday weekend be greater than you hope or imagine, and may the coming year bring great things to your writing life — including the right editor at the right time, but more than that, excitement about your various and worthy writing projects!

Leave a Reply

